Towel Baby Bibs – Neck Binding Tutorial

.

Due to the popularity of my previous Towel Baby Bibs posts, I have recently received several questions regarding the baby bibs that I make for my friends and family.

.

Because of this I am going to do a couple of new posts answering those questions and give a little more detail into the construction of the bibs so that people new to sewing will have less trouble figuring out how to make them. Then in the next few posts I will get creative and show you all the fun things you can do with the bibs once you have made them.

.

This first post is a tutorial of how to apply the ribbing to the neck of the bibs. I am going to be using black ribbing with white thread. Hopefully, this will make it easier to see how to sew them together properly in the pictures. Just in case you didn’t know already you can click on any of the photos below to make them larger if you are having trouble seeing them.

.

So here it is in just 10 easy steps:

.

1. Cut the ribbing 10 1/2 inches by 3 inches. If the ribbing has a lot of stretch, cut it a little shorter. If the ribbing is not that stretchy, cut it a little longer.

.

2. Place the circle pattern on the towel and cut the circle from the towel. I like to center the circle from side to side and place it about 1 inch from the top. You can place the circle anywhere you want but be careful not to place it too close to the top. Make sure  to leave enough room for your seam. I cut the circle out with my rotary blade so I don’t trace the circle first. If you are going to cut the circle out with scissors, it might make it easier to trace the circle onto the towel and then cut it out so you can pick the towel up. Plus, even though I have given the dimensions of my circle, you can be a little off from that, so don’t worry about the exact size too much. (I kept the circle I cut from the first bib that I made and serged around the edge, so I could use it as my pattern for bib making.)

.

3. Fold the ribbing, right sides together, matching the width, and then sew the ribbing together.

.

4. Fold the ribbing lengthwise, wrong sides together,  to form a ring.

.

5. Pin the ribbing into fourths. Start by pinning the ribbing in half. To do this, I hold the seam in one hand, fold the ring flat and pin at the end of the piece. Then I place the seam and the first pin together and pin at each end.

.

6. Pin the circle in the towel into fourths. I do this by folding the circle in half and pinning the sides of the circle. Then I fold the towel side to side, matching the pins, and pin the top and bottom of the circle.

.

7. Matching pins, pin the ribbing to the towel. Make sure to put the seam to the top of the towel which is also the back of the circle.

.

8. Stretch the ribbing and sew between the pins. Make sure to have the ribbing on top, this will make it easier to sew.

.

9. Finish the edge. I use an overcast stitch in my sewing machine to finish the seam. I could use my serger but I like the cleaner look of the overcast stitch.

.

10. Trim the edge next to the overcast stitches. Of course, it you serged the edge, the serger did this part for you.

.

And now you have finished applying the ribbing to the neck of the bib and now it is complete!

.

Congratulations on a job well done! This is what it should look like once completed.

.

Stay tuned for my next posts on the fun part of embellishing the towel baby bibs.

.

If you would like to see the ORIGINAL Baby Bib post you can find it HERE.

.Burda Design Baby Bibs

6 thoughts on “Towel Baby Bibs – Neck Binding Tutorial

  1. Pingback: Towel Baby Bibs « Sew Forth and Sew On

    • Yes it is around 5 inches. If you look at the other post of mine in the baby bib series that I did, you will see a diagram that shows the size.

  2. Where do you get the ribbing? I have been making MANY of this type of bib for our hospital gift shop but am now having a hard time finding the ribbing. Can you steer me to a good place to purchase it? Thanks

    • As far as purchasing ribbing on line, fabric.com seems to have the best selection that I could find, (I searched their site for knit ribbing.) but I have not personally purchased any ribbing from them. Hancockfabrics.com also listed some basic color when I searched for knit ribbing. On the retail front, Joann’s carries several colors, but don’t waste your time looking at Walmart. Another option to purchasing actual ribbing is to use a nice interlock knit with a good stretch. Just make sure to cut the interlock a little longer than you would the ribbing before using it.

    • I have been using lightweight polar fleece for my ribbing. Has a lot of stretch and is very inexpensive. I buy about 7 inches of different patterns. It is 60 inches wide therefore you can get a lot of pieces for little money. One piece cost me less than $l and I got quite a few out of it. Works great. Hope this helps

Leave a Reply

