A New Skill

Look at what I learned how to do. Many years ago I learned how to crochet but never did much with the skill mostly due to it aggravating my carpal tunnel problems in my right arm and hand. My mom and sister have been crocheting around blankets for years.  It was just something I said I did not do, but due to the nephew’s love of Star Wars and the new little one, I decided to give it a try.

I dug the fleece out of the stash and took it on our last trip to see Mom and Dad over the 4th of July, and with Mom’s help the creative process began. Mom first squared up the fabric and rounded the corners. Then, she blind hem stitched around the edge.  Next, she used a sharp pair of scissors to poke a holes in between the blind hem stitches. Last, she got me started on the crocheting. I did two single crochets per hole all the way around to cover the edge. I could have stopped there, but Mom had me chain 3 – skip a stitch to make the edge. It was a lot of fun to crochet and I loved the end result. I had to be careful though, if I crocheted for too long, my ct would act up, so I just took it easy and only stitched in small increments.

When we got home, I dug through the stash again and found another piece of fleece. What I learned quickly is the hardest part is poking the holes with the little scissors.  I only thought the crocheting bothered my ct. Poking the holes in the fabric aggravated it far worse. I only poked holes around half the blanket because I was anxious to start crocheting before my hand gave completely out. It is still very fun to crochet, but with hole poking, I have to crochet in even smaller increments. To solve this problem I did a search on the internet and came up with some ideas to combat the hole poking problem, so stay tuned and I will let you know how they go.

By the way, it was Mom’s great idea to put the rubber pencil holder on my crochet hook so it didn’t slip in my hand.  It makes it much easier for me to hold and I can crochet longer.

3 thoughts on “A New Skill

  1. Pingback: A New Skill | starwars-fanatics.com

  2. Pingback: A long time ago in a galaxy far far away… | Sew Forth and Sew On

Leave a Reply

