Darth Vader

 
My husband is really excited about this shirt, although you will never hear him say it out loud.

img_0901I have finally made him a shirt with Darth Vader embroidered on it and the design stitched out great!

He digitized the design for me many years ago, and I had previously stitched the design on a shirt for a nephew who is into Star Wars, but I had not got around to making one for him.

When I stitched it all those years ago for the nephew, I reduced the size of the design to fit in the 4×4 hoop and the design lost some of it’s detail.

But on the husband’s shirt, I stitched the design in the much larger size that he digitized it in and the detail adds to the uniqueness of the design.
It makes it look more 3d and layered.

I had the fabric for this shirt just sitting in my stash. I had purchased it several years ago not really knowing what I would make out of it at the time, but since it was such a beautiful piece of fabric, I could not leave it at the store.

I am glad that I did not pass it up. It sewed up beautifully, with no hassles.

Luckily, I purchased plenty of this fabric and have more to make another shirt or use on some other project.

I am also happy to have at least some yardage out of my stash.

So, the question is, should I purchase fabric like this piece that is a good deal and a nice piece for later use and have it live in the stash for a little while, or pass it up because my stash is already overwhelming?

I also tried out some new interfacing I purchased the last time I was at a real fabric store. It was expensive but I had a coupon so that helped.

This interfacing is heavier than I usually use but it ironed on great and it seems to be a good interfacing. I will have to get some more of it the next time I have a coupon or it is on sale.img_0903

I am pleased with this shirt and its construction.

The only thing I would change on it is moving the design a little closer to the buttons, but it is too late for that now, and it does not look bad at all the way it is.

The final test is to see if the husband likes it on. Sometimes the wearability factor is a problem. I will make him a shirt that looks fine on him, but he just does not like to wear it.

I do know one thing though, if he decides that he does not like the shirt, my little brother will be happy to wear it for him since he too is a giant Star Wars fan!

P.S. The Darth Vader shirt is wearing well. Now, my husband just has to make the hard decision when looking through his closet, Buzz or Darth.

I have faith in the shirt and that he will eventually turn to the Dark Side…

 

 

5 thoughts on “Darth Vader

  1. Josh was looking at this with me and was wondering if you would make him one too. He didn’t remember that the original one you made was for him. I can’t wait for Ty to be able to wear it next.

  2. My son is dressing as Darth Vader this Halloween and I am looking for an appropriate embroidery design to stitch on his trick-or-treat tote bag. Is this design for sale?

    • No, I’m sorry to say that the designs my husband creates for me are for our personal use only and are not for sale. I’m sure there are several designs available for download on the net for free that other people have done so try out a google search for “star wars embroidery designs”.

      If you cannot find one though let me know and I will find some and send you a link for them.

  3. Pingback: A long time ago in a galaxy far far away… | Sew Forth and Sew On

Leave a Reply

