Amigurumi Pattern Books

I really enjoy crocheting amigurumi characters. You probably already figured this out from my previous blogs on them. Recently while shopping around on Amazon, I found a lot of pattern books for amigurumi patterns. I decided to purchase a couple of them and learned that not all patterns or authors are created equal. So, I thought I would give you a review on the two books that I have actually used a pattern from so far.

613JUOFdE2L._SS400_The original book I purchasedPicture 1 and the one I have used the most is Amigurumi World by Ana Paula Rimoli. I loved the patterns in it and the animals made from them. This book has lots of pictures and offers several ideas to help make the animals uniquely yours. The patterns are easy to understand and easy to follow. Amigurumi Two by the same author is available and I have it on my wish list to purchase. I would say that this book is great for everyone, whether this is your first time at amigurumi or you have made many animals before. The only problem I have with this book is that the animals don’t really look like real animals. Although very cute, they are cartoon like in nature as amigurumi are, so depending on the look you want, they may not be the look you want. This brings me to the purchase of my next book, Vanna’s Choice Easy Crochet Critters by Leisure Arts.

.

51J8B3w2-hL._SS400_The Easy Crochet Critters IMG_1038book has more realistic animal patterns. The animals are still very cute but most of them stand on four legs. I have completed the alligator. He was easy and fun to put together. The pattern was reasonable easy to follow, and it also has nice pictures to guide you along. I am glad that I started with the Amigurumi World book first. Some of the parts of the patterns assume you understand some basic construction techniques and might be hard to follow if you had not made any amgurumi before.  This does not mean that I will abandon the book, I just don’t think it is good for a beginner. I am going to make the seal and the walrus next and see how they turn out.

IMG_1031I purchased more than just these two books, but I don’t want to pass any judgement on the others until I have crocheted at least one of the patterns from the books. So, stay tuned to see what adventures I have next!

5 thoughts on “Amigurumi Pattern Books

  1. I love your alligator. He is so cute!!! I can’t wait to see the seal and walrus. I even think that lion on the cover of the one book is adorable. The little robots too, I love them all!!!

  2. Hello, I loved that alligator! I have been looking for that book but since I live in Mexico it gets very expensive to have it (60USD), specially because I’m looking only for the lion pattern for the “Easy crochet critters” book. I was wondering if you could sell me the pattern or something, I would like to do some for my baby shower, not for selling, just for giving to the guests, and I could do it by myself, but I’m having a very hard time figuring out how to do the mane. I would appreciate your answer (even if its a yes or no), thanks 🙂 and congrats, great work 🙂

    • Thanks for the comment! I always smile when I go to my husbands office as he has that alligator sitting on his desk grinning at me.

      I have added some links to the books in that post for you. If you click on the Easy crochet critters text in my post now it will take you to amazon where I see you can purchase the book for $15 to Mexico Postpaid. I hope that helps, but if not let me know and I will figure something else out. Good Luck!

  3. Have you tried the invisible decrease? It might help you with your holy problem 😉 your little animals are too cute!

    • No I have not tried that yet but I will certainly give it a try. Thanks for letting me know about it.

Leave a Reply

