A Ton or None

IMG_1245

After bemoaning the fact that we went on vacation and did not buy a single inch of fabric, I more than made up for it on the next trip. Here about 3 weeks ago we had a convention to attend in Southern California and I was able to find my way to M & L Fabric. Upon walking in the front door, I was face to face with a fabulous deal that I just couldn’t pass up.  They had marked a bunch of knits for $1 a yard. They were all heavier knits in dark colors, perfect for the husbands shirts, and I went crazy. I loaded up the cart. When I got done at the cutting table, I had 38 yards of fabric to purchase. I also bought some remnants to make my niece something, along with 10 spools of thread at $0.20 a piece and a pair of scissors for $0.99. I wish I had bought  a couple more pairs of the scissors. When I got home and tried them, they were fairly good scissors and cut well. I sure have a great time at that store, and it is a good thing I don’t live closer to it.

Well, that is the ton. As for the none, we made a fast trip to see the parents on the 4th of July. We traveled over 1300 miles in 2 days. Although I know my Mom had fabric for me to see, we had no time to see it. We were too busy visiting with family and friends, eating hamburgers and tacos and watching fireworks. So, I brought home no fabric from Mom’s, 5 skeins of yarn, but no fabric. I was totally amazed.  I did take Mom a couple of pieces of fabric from my stash that I had decided to part with, so this trip actually had the opposite effects from most of our journeys.

Leave a Reply

