Think Sleepers

IMG_2204IMG_2202On our last trip to see my parents, my mom produced a box from her fabric stash labeled “think sleepers”. It was filled with the scraps from many knit projects she had done over the years. She offered me whatever I wanted from the box and I pretty much took the whole box. (I didn’t take any pieces that did not have enough yardage for a sleeper or was not  really baby in color or print.) I had a great time going through the box and brought home some great pieces. Thanks, Mom.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

IMG_2208IMG_2210One of the pieces in the box was this blue chest stripe knit. There was not enough fabric for a sleeper with matching stripes so I decided to turn the fabric as I cut out the sleepers and not worry about the stripes. By doing this I had enough fabric for 2 sleepers. I think they turned out adorable. I was able to use my smaller sleeper pattern and I had more fun sewing them together by not worrying about the stripes. The next baby shower I have been invited to is for a little girl so the embroidery designs I picked were feminine. I hope her mom likes them.

One of these sleepers also gave me the chance to use my clear fingernail polish I had mentioned in my flag repair post. One of the white zippers I had had a damaged end. It was still long enough to use after cutting of the damaged end. So, to seal the ends of the zipper and keep them from fraying, I applied just a touch of clear finger nail polish to the ends and it worked out great.

.

.

.

IMG_2205IMG_2207I have been to baby showers for little girls and all the gifts are usually pink. So, I try not to make all the sleepers I give, pink or totally girly, but the 3rd sleeper I made is all girl. I have several yards of this rainbow fabric and it has been living in my stash for many years. The reason it has never been sewn up before is how thin it is. I think this little girl will fit in this sleeper in the middle of summer and the thinner fabric should work just fine when it is warmer outside.

Between the bib’s, sleepers, and the christmas gift I embroidered I would say it was a very productive embroidery day!

Leave a Reply

