Happy New Year!

Happy New Year!

As the new year begins, everyone is excited for the fresh start and of course making some new year’s resolutions. I don’t normally set any NEW new year’s resolutions. I just renew the same ones from the last year that I broke, which are the same ones from the year before which are the same ones from the year before that… This year besides renewing the same old resolutions from past years, I am going to add a new sewing resolution to the list.

While reading another blog, the writer said that she considered herself a beginner seamstress because there are so many sewing techniques she has not tried to conquer. This got me to thinking, with everything I have done, there are many things I’ve never done or even tried to do. Yes, I am pretty good at making all my sloper patterns, but I have never tried a zipper, regular or invisible, in a dress. I have never attempted a tailored jacket. I have never made a quilt. I have always wanted to try making stuffed animals, but have just never gave it a go. With my new love of amigurumi, the desire to sew stuffed animals has greatly lessened I will admit. I have everything I need to create any of these projects already. There is plenty of fabric in the stash and lots of sewing supplies in the closet. I even have the patterns for most of these projects. So, this years new year’s sewing resolution is to try new sewing techniques.

That is a pretty big resolution. My first step will be just to sort through patterns and books and write a list of things I want to learn and try. Then I will plan each project and try to set some time limits. If the time limits pressure me too much, I will just ignore them. I hate to sew under pressure. It takes all the fun out of sewing. Hopefully, by the end of the year, I will have a few new sewing techniques mastered.

So, wish me luck as I start my new year’s resolutions! And a very Happy New Year to you all!


Leave a Reply

