Flannel Baby Blankets

img_2914With the long car ride to see the parents, I worked on baby blankets. The first blanket is for a girl. I have had the little sheep print flannel hidden in the stash for many years and it was time for it to come out. I had to purchase the pink flannel for the back, but Wal-Mart has a good price on flannel. I decided on the regular weight pink yarn so I used the skip stitch blade #1 to make the cuts. I cut at 1/2 inch from the edge.

I thought this would be close enough to the edge that I would not get a long drop, but as I started the first row, the drop was longer than I liked so I folded the edge over. I had to convince myself that the fold looked ok, but I like the
img_2920look of the fold better than the long drop.

On the next flannel blanket I make, I will cut at 1/4 inch from the edge and that should solve my problem with the length of the drop. I will have to sew closer to the edge of the blanket so the seam allowance does not interfere with the skip stitch blade, so we will see how that turns out the next time I do a blanket. I do not cut or sew very straight, so sewing that close to the edge may present a problem.

After finishing the first row, I decided to change to white yarn. So, the second row is just a chain 3 and slip stitched in every 3rd stitch of the first row. After completing the second row, I switched back to pink and started to do a scalloped edges around the blanket, but I was not happy with the results. The pink scallops covered all the white chain and you could not even tell that I changed colors. I thought about going back to the white to do the scallops, but then I just started chaining again. I chained 3 then slip stitched into the white chain, and I am very pleased with the end results.  I like the design so much that I will do the exact same thing again on another blanket, and this time I will do it that way on purpose.

img_3178The second blanket is for a boy.

It is made from two remnant that I picked up at Wal-mart recently. Because the flannel came from the remnant bin, they were not full yards so the blanket is a little odd sized and
img_3183smaller than I would have normally made.

I could have cut some off and squared up the blanket but that would have made it really small and I would rather have a couple of extra inches on the blanket, than to throw away the pieces I would have cut off.

I picked the remainder of a skien of soft yarn from another project to go around this blanket. Even though the yarn is thinner than regular yarn, it is still 4 ply so I went ahead and used the skip stitch blade #1, and I think the end results turned out very well.

Once again I cut at 1/2 inch from the edge, not having learned my lesson from the previous blanket yet, so I folded the edge on the first row. For the second row, I tried to do the peak pattern I like so much for boy’s blankets but with the thinner yarn it just did not look that good, so I switched to a scallop pattern instead.

The pattern is chain 2, skip 2 stitches, 5 double crochets in the 3rd stitch, chain 2, skip 2 stitches, and slip stitch in the next.

I think the blanket and edge turned out cute. Hopefully, the little guy I am giving this blanket to will like the dogs on it and his mom will like the brown scalloped edge.

3 thoughts on “Flannel Baby Blankets

  1. Hi I have a question for you regarding one of the materials used in this article, namely the “sheep print flannel”:
    https://sewforthandsewon.wordpress.com/2010/04/26/flannel-baby-blankets/

    I’ve been looking for it for many years–my childhood security blankets were that same material and in all the years I’ve been searching this is the only photo of it that I’ve managed to find online. Do you remember where you bought it from or what company made it? It is of the utmost importance to me that I’m able to find it again.

    Thank you so much for any information or help you’re able to provide–there aren’t words to express how much this blanket means to me.

    • Julie,

      I am sorry it took me awhile to back track this one, and I am sorry to be the bearer of bad news.

      Many years ago I purchased this fabric in a bag with some other fabric at a thrift store and it stayed in my stash for a good long while.

      But a few years back just before one of my nieces was born, I went looking through the stash for baby fabrics to make her a few baby blankets. I saw these in the stash and I pulled them out and made them up as the baby blankets you see here in the photos for her. I used all of it up and I don’t have any more or I would send it to you.

      Because of that, I cannot tell you where the “Original” fabric came from since I bought it second hand and yes you are correct at it’s age. Probably 15-20 years old now so finding more of it not already stitched up into something would be near impossible I would imagine.

      I do travel to fabric stores all over the world though so just in case I see anymore I will pick it up and contact you on it.

      I am sorry I could not be more help…

  2. Lanita–

    Thank you so much for taking the time to respond; I didn’t see this until just now somehow. I really appreciate you keeping an eye out for it! It means the world to me.

    Thanks again and happy holidays!

Leave a Reply

