NINJA!

Ten ninjas to be exact. The husband has requested that I crochet him an army of ninjas which will be 10 ninjas according to him. I told him this was going to take some time, but that I would get started. So, this is ninja one and two. I have named them Yin and Yang. I don’t know if the husband likes their names all that well, but he can rename them later if he wants.

The pattern for Yin and Yang came from the book Creepy Cute Crochet by Christen Haden. This is a fun book that I purchased awhile back, but I just never got around to trying any of the patterns. The pattern was a little more difficult to follow than some of the previous patterns I have made. The body is crocheted in the round like all the other amigurumi patterns I have made, but for the head each round is slip stitched  closed and a new round started with a chain one. I found this more difficult to keep my count on the rounds, but after two heads, I felt a little more at ease with the process. I have not studied why the the head was made this way or decided if it is better than just continuing to crochet in the round, but I am sure there is a reason for crocheting it this way. If anyone knows why, please let me know.

.

.

This time the sewing together of the body parts was not the hardest part in constructing these ninjas. The crocheting of their ninja stars was far more difficult. The pattern called for embroidery floss and a size 1 hook to make the stars. Being unsure about the star’s construction, I picked just plain white embroidery floss and a size 2 hook (because that was the smallest I owned) and made the white star for the black ninja. Feeling a little more confident with the crocheting of the star and with the purchase of a size 1 hook, I used metallic floss and the size 1 hook to make the gold star for the white ninja. Their ties also took a couple of tries to get right, but now I believe I have that part of the pattern down.

So, the army has been started, but there will need to be more recruits before the battle can be fought.

2 thoughts on “NINJA!

  1. I have this book! I made ninjas for my team at work, but to make each of them different I used sculpey to make the weapons.

Leave a Reply

