Take A Stand

I need new work shirts, so while digging through my patterns, I ran across my pattern for a shirt with a stand collar. I have only sewn two of these styles of shirts ever, so I decided it was time to try it again.

.

I had already decided on some fabric to use for my shirts, so it was already out of the stash and ready to go. I cut it out very carefully so there would be not be any surprises as I sewed the shirt together.

.

On the first shirt I made with this type of collar, I followed the directions but I was unhappy with the difficulty and the results. After a great deal of thought, I decided to sew the collar to front stand and then sew the stands straight across to the shirt. I then stitched some of the curve on the stand, folded that out and up, did some ironing and then stitched in the ditch to finish the collar.

.

.

.

.

I tried this on the second shirt I made a while back. It was still not easy or perfect, but I felt that my idea for the construction was better than the original directions. So, here on this shirt, I decided to try it again. This time it did go  smoother than last time and surprisingly I remembered a lot of the things I learned from last time and learned even more things this time around. I did not quite catch all the collar when I stitched in the ditch, lesson learned, so I am going to have to do some hand stitching, which is not my favorite thing to do. Speaking of hand stitching, I think some basting stitches before using the sewing machine may make my method of constructing  this collar easier.

.

The thing that I learned the most on this collar was that I need to make another one soon. One of my problems is just the lack of practice sewing a collar with a stand. With that thought in mind, I hope to make another shirt soon with this type of collar to try out my ideas, but first I want to finish this shirt.

Leave a Reply

