DREAD

Doom, despair, overwhelmed, helplessness, discouragement, anxiousness, and panic! That was just a few of the feelings I experienced as I dug through the stash looking for fabric to make my new pattern. Shouldn’t I experience happiness and joy as I touch the many gorgeous pieces of fabric that I own? Aren’t they suppose to stimulate my mind and touch my creative soul? Shouldn’t I get excited about all of the possibilities? Instead I end up feeling despondent, as another bag of fabric purchased long ago, that I totally forgot I purchased falls on my head?

.

This trip to the stash was a real eye opener for me. I have been making lots of fabric purchases, especially from the $1 a yard bin at M&L Fabric, and just tossing it in the general direction of the stash. When I actually got into the boxes and started to see everything I had purchased, I felt stunned by the amount. I will never get all this fabric sewn up in my life time. After pulling out a couple of more boxes and finding a bag of flannel purchased on the 4th of July two years ago, I had reached the final straw. “NO MORE!” I said. Then I found three more boxes hidden in another closet, not even being counted as in the stash, and the camel’s back snapped. “REALLY!! NO MORE!!” I said louder.

.

I know I have said this before, but this time it is for real. I have said that before too. Then I am good for about three months, then I go back to purchasing more fabric. I am insisting with myself that this time it will be different. I have decided that this time before going somewhere that I might purchase fabric, I will take a quick look at the stash and that will stop me. I hope. I will remember my feelings of dread and despair when I get the desire to buy more fabric, and if I just want to see some great pieces, I will just go to the stash. I am resolute this time in my decision to purchase no more fabric.

.

By the way, I found the fabric for my new shirt and I have the pattern traced and I am ready to start cutting. Whee!

Leave a Reply

