B5503 – Cutting

As I have mentioned before,  I am not one for using muslin to try a new pattern out. I would rather make it out of some inexpensive fabric that is just ok and see what I get. If it works out I have something to wear and if it doesn’t, oh well, I’m not out very much anyway. Once when  I did this and it didn’t work out, I chopped it up and made baby sleepers with the fabric. I have found that if I use a piece of muslin to try the pattern, I get sloppy with the construction of it since I know it will never be a useable item. I cut corners and assume that it will all work out, and you know what happens when you assume.

With that in mind, I chose a piece of fabric from the stash that was not totally sold on, but still a nice piece. I knew it would make a nice shirt. And I could run the stripes in alternate directions, instead of using another color to make the contrasting pieces that the pattern called for. I picked the pattern size that best matches my measurements in what I would buy in ready to wear, traced the pattern and cut out the pieces. This shirt style sure took a lot of fabric, more than I normally use to make me a shirt. When I bought this piece of fabric, I bought enough for a shirt for me and the husband. After cutting out my shirt, the husband might get a shirt or he might not. We will have to see when I lay his pattern on the fabric I have left over.

.

The pattern called for a center back seam and I can’t figure out why. The seam does not seem to do any shaping or fitting of the shirt whatsoever. The only reason I can think that the pattern instructs you to do this is possibly to use less fabric or if you need to adjust for your back side.  I could have cut the back piece on the fold, but I followed the pattern instead. I cut the back piece in half then took it to the sewing machine and sewed it back together.

With the pieces in hand, it was time for construction to start.

BURDA STYLE

Leave a Reply

