An Ode to Yarn

.

No! No! No! No more fabric!

.

Since my dreaded trip to the stash, I have purchased very, very little fabric recently. We even made a trip to see Mom and Dad, where Mom showered me with pieces of fabric she was parting with, and I only took 4 small pieces, not the usual 4 boxes. Mom and I even made a trip to the Walmart fabric department and I did not buy any fabric there at all. I am proud of myself for this but I quickly realized that the pride was in vain, that my habits had not changed, that I was just substituting the purchase of fabric with the purchase of yarn.

.

My acquisition of yarn is really not my fault. Well not this time anyway…

.

There are really two culprits to blame for the piles of yarn that are now accumulating next to the piles of fabric. The first is Walmart. My local Walmart just went through a remodel. Luckily, the fabric department wasn’t discontinued, but in the process, many skeins of yarn went on clearance. The clearance skein’s were mostly speciality type yarns which saddens my heart as I realized that my local Walmart would only have the basic Red Heart yarn styles and colors from now on. So, with this in mind, I started to buy. I felt that I had to stock up because my Walmart would not be carrying these yarns any longer. When Mom and I went to her local Walmart, I had to check out their yarn too and I found that they were also clearing out selected yarns as well. So, once again, I just HAD to buy it. So, as you can see, it is really not my fault. I had to buy the yarn while I could.

.

The second culprit is my mother. Upon arriving at her home, she pulled me aside and said, “Look at this.”  She had purchased 5 skeins of Sensations Boucle pattern yarn at the local thrift store for $3.00 a skein. “You can have this if you want it.” For that price, I could not leave it. I quickly handed Mom the money and ran my new treasure out to the car before she changed her mind. It is now sitting in my pile of yarn, waiting for its turn to be crocheted into something amazing.

.

Oh, what have I done?!? I might as well go back to buying fabric if I am going to replace it with yarn.

.

Help. Please. Someone.

.

Well you know what they say. The first step to solving the problem is admitting that you have a problem.

.

So here goes: “Hi, my name is Lanita and I am a Fabriholic and now a Yarnaholic and I need help…”

.

Does anyone know any local Yarnaholic chapters I can join?

.

Well until next time…

.

2 thoughts on “An Ode to Yarn

    • You are very lucky then! I have so many buttons now I have been trying to come up with some sort of button art project to use some of them up!

Leave a Reply

