The Tale of Two Diets and the Weight of a Wait

So several months ago my husband told me I was getting fat!

Well, ok that isn’t exactly true.

His exact words were more along the lines of: “You know dear we are getting older and we probably need to loose some of this extra weight we are carrying around so that we feel better and have less medical problems as we continue to age.”

But of course being a woman, I wanted to hear none of that! All I heard was “You are fat!” Now don’t get me wrong, I KNOW I am fat, since I have been considered “FAT” according to the Medical Definition of the term since I was about 3 days old.

We both lead very active lives and since my being overweight had not stopped me from doing anything that I had wanted to before, I just hadn’t really paid much attention to the issue. I’m very lucky to have had a very loving husband for 25 years now who doesn’t really see my weight as an issue and since we were pretty much both overweight when we met, when we were dating, and when we were married, it just wasn’t a high priority item on either of our lists to get the weight off.

At least it wasn’t until we reached our 40’s. Once you reach a certain age and things start to become more difficult for you,  like getting in and out of a car, or a chair, or those leather hot pants you bought back in the 80’s and thought were just “The Bomb” back then, you start to think about your future in different ways. Thoughts that when you are younger and in your 20’s and 30’s, you would never even have considered having.

So starting on January 1st, 2012 we both went on that most despised of despise’s, dreadful of dreadful’s, evil of evil’s. Yep thats right. The D word that we dare not speak it’s name or it will come and haunt us in our dreams while we sleep forevermore!


DUTCH CHOCOLATE CAKE!

Oh wait! That’s not it! I wish that were it! I’d actually “LIKE” to hear that D word!

No it was the other one that sounds a lot like DYE IT!

Now don’t get me wrong. Over the years like most modern women I have been on and off of several “weight reduction plans”. But for me anyway, mostly off.

I had done the New Years Resolution Fad Diets, along with every other woman on the planet for the last 30 years trying to get rid of a few of those extra “Holiday Pounds” we all seem to gain every year during the holidays.

But this year was different. This year about 6 months before January 1st rolled around my husband had started to compile data and do some research like he always does when he is getting ready to make a change to something in our life. And by January 1st, 2012 he had created a “Lifestyle Modification” for us.

When he first told me what it entailed I told him he was “Crazy in the head” and that there was no way we could do what he was asking. But three months later and 52 pounds lighter and several pants and shirt sizes smaller, I have to say he wasn’t so crazy after all. Well maybe crazy like a fox. He has lost more weight than I have in the same amount of time, but since he is more than a foot taller than me and male, that was to be expected.

He insists that since this isn’t really a diet, and instead is something we change in our daily behavior so it’s really more a psychological thing than a physical thing, that we should be able to stick with it over the long term rather than the two week’s and I’ve had enough holiday diets of yore. And I must say, it is nice to be back to my 10 year ago weight, and to not have had to give up too much to get here. My next goal of course is to get back to my 20 year ago weight and I think given some time and effort I can get to that point too. All in all I am excited for what the future brings.

Now some of you may be saying at this point “Super! You lost a few pounds! Now what does this have to do with sewing?”

.

Well, I’ll tell you what it has to do with sewing!

Since I have lost the weight,  I now need to make several new articles of clothing to fit my reduced size and you should see the fruits of those labors showing up on here very soon! At least that is the plan.

Leave a Reply

