The foam, it was puffy…

After much study and thought, it is time to cut into the into the purple and white floral knit print that has no singularity. I found a pattern in the closet for a child’s tab front shirt using the cut away tab method instead of the slit method and I am very excited to give it a try. This knit will make great shirts for little girls and I can see many different things embroidered on it.

.

Knowing that the embroidery part of making these shirts would occur early in the construction, I started to look at designs and quickly picked several Snoopy designs to choose from.  But, as I thought about the white Snoopy’s on this purple floral print, I started to grow concerned that the purple floral print was going to show through and the last thing I wanted was the image of purple flowers hiding behind Snoopy’s smile. How could I hide the fabric underneath so I could embroider Snoopy’s on this fabric? After contemplating several choices, I decided to give puffy foam a try. I have only played with puffy foam once before without much luck, but I decided it was time to try and use it again.

.
Now, I have two different types of Snoopy designs, Brother designs that use a running stitch around the edges of the Snoopy’s and Dakota designs that use a satin stitch around the edges. So, with this in mind, I felt that the Dakota designs would be best to use with the puffy foam to seal the edges of the design around the foam. I decided to give it a try on a towel first which I could use to make into a bib later.
.

The puffy foam worked great. I hooped the towel as usual then I taped a piece of puffy foam in the center of the hoop and started stitching. After stitching everything but the outline, I removed the hoop from the machine and carefully trimmed the puffy foam away. I reinserted the hoop and finished the last color, the outline. It did take some extra time to embroider with the puffy foam but the process went smoothly.

.

After finishing the design with the puffy foam, I embroidered the design again on another towel without puffy foam so I had a visual comparison to go by. There was not much difference in the designs once they were embroidered on the towels. Yes, the puffy foam one was puffier  and more 3d looking, but not that much. Was it because I was embroidering on a towel and the nap of the towel had not let the puffy foam look puffy? Then I thought about the differences in the Brother and Dakota designs, namely the stitch count. The Brother designs averaged 8000 to 10,000 stitches where as the Dakota designs ranged 20,000 to 30,000 stitches. Maybe that many stitches was pushing the puffy foam down and not allowing it to puff up as it was designed to do.
.

Feeling that I had the technique of using puffy foam down, I did not want to spend any more time embroidering on towels, so I decided to embroider a Snoopy Brother design with puffy foam on the purple floral print fabric. I followed the same procedure as I did with the towel, and I embroidered all the colors except the outline,  then I cut away the puffy foam and then I embroidered the outline. It seemed to work great. The resulting design is puffier than the Dakota design on the towel, but the edges are not covered as completely as they are with the Dakota design. The puffy foam solved the show through problem very well though and I am pleased with the end results.
.

The Brother design with the running stitch edge looks great but my concern is how will it hold up over time. Will the stitches become loose on the puffy foam? Will the design be ok after several washing and drying cycles on the puffy foam? I am anxious to get the shirts made and give them to a little girl so she can wear one for awhile and hopefully answer some of my last remaining questions regarding the use of puffy foam.

3 thoughts on “The foam, it was puffy…

  1. Hello I like what you did with the puffy foam. I would love to try it out as well. Will you tell me what site you ordered your puffy foam from. I love what you did with it,I can’t wait to try it for myself thank you.

  2. Pingback: You’ve been a good friend Charlie Brown! | Sew Forth and Sew On

Leave a Reply

