Momma and Baby

We have done some traveling recently so I have found myself with travel time to crochet. Because I love the turtle amigurumi pattern so much, it was still packed in my travel crochet bag. After my last purchase of variegated yarn, a lovely skein of Woodsy Sylvestre from Red Heart, another turtle became my next project.

As before, the turtle’s pieces crocheted up easily and were a lot of fun to construct. As I finished crocheting the shell of the turtle, I started to debate about what my next project would be, and that is when I noticed the baby turtle pattern on the back side. Now, I had looked at the baby turtle pattern previously but I like to make bigger amigurumi’s so I had just passed over it. Sitting in the car, I decided that since the pattern was out and I had the colors right there handy, and since the adult turtle pattern is so much fun to make, I would just whip a baby turtle up to see how it looked.

The baby turtle pattern was easy to follow, but it was not as much fun to make as the adult pattern because of the tiny pieces, but it was still turning out to be very cute. All was going well until I put the eyes in. The smaller eyes in the smaller head made the baby turtle look evil. So evil was its look, that I almost titled this post “Momma and the evil step child”. I continued the construction of the baby turtle hoping that as I stitched the pieces together that the look would soften. It didn’t. My last hope was the smile. A cute little smile on the baby turtle would erase the evil and would help the baby turtle to become cute and cuddly. It didn’t happen that way, but it did help. It turned some of the evil to a look of mischief instead.

When sitting side by side, the momma and baby turtles are cute. But, I can still see the mischief in the baby’s eyes. Maybe it’s just me though. I have wondered if I used bigger eyes on the baby turtle the next time if that would soften the look some, but I don’t know if I am willing to try another baby turtle with bigger eyes yet. I enjoy the making and the results of the adult turtle pattern so much that I would rather spend my time making more adult turtles than trying the baby pattern again. We will see.

2 thoughts on “Momma and Baby

Leave a Reply

