Well, I Don’t Consider Myself An Idiot

But, I bought and read the book anyway, and I’m glad I did. While perusing the new amigurumi books on Amazon, I came across the book The Complete Idiot’s Guide to Amigurumi by June Gilbank. I really did not read the book’s description at first, but instead skimmed the reader’s reviews and found that almost everyone loved the book. Without reading the reviews too closely, I went ahead and ordered the book.

Expecting a book of fun and exciting amigurumi patterns, I was disappointed when the book first arrived. There were only about six patterns in the book and a lot of text. And who wants a book with text these days? I want pictures!

No, not really, I’m just kidding.

At the time though, I pushed the book to the side and decided to read it later when I had more time to look at it more thouroughly.

And that time just never seemed to come.

So the other day I saw the book still sitting on my bookshelf collecting dust and  I decided it was time for it find a new home, and collect dust on someone else’s bookshelf. But before just tossing it into the goodwill box, I decided to see what some of the text had to say. To my surprise the book was actually what it said it was, a guide to making amigurumi toys. So I decided to go ahead and read the whole book right then and there.

The first part of the book was a review for me since I know how to crochet, but other parts of the book were things that I have not tried yet like making hair and using fancy specialty yarns. As I continued to read this book, fabulous ideas began to form in my brain. Creative ideas sometimes overwhelm my poor little brain, forcing me to stop and write my ideas down before I loose them. As I started writing, this list became quite long as I planned my next several projects for the future.

Now, I can’t wait to get crocheting on an amigurumi with joints or one with brushed yarn to make it look fuzzy or to make an amigurumi a wig with ringlets. My list is quite long and I am so excited to get started.

After finishing reading the book cover to cover, it returned to my bookshelf and the next time I need inspiration, I will reach for it. Not for it’s patterns, but for the spark it gave my creativity.

Leave a Reply

