Escargot

Yes, it’s true. I have been playing on raverly.com again and found a pattern I just could not wait to make!

And it is a (Drumroll Please!)  SNAIL!

I know, I know. It seems like a silly thing to make, but I needed a distraction and it seemed like a good fit at the time, so I downloaded the pattern and I was off and crocheting.

After having so much fun making turtles, the snail pattern seemed to be a logical next step, a pattern that used some of the fun variegated yarn I now owned and that wasn’t another turtle.

The pattern said that the snail would be 4 inches tall if crocheted with a 2.5 mm hook. I hate using tiny hooks plus all the fun variegated yarn I have is a little thick for that small of a hook. With that in mind, I decided to use my favorite G or 4 mm sized hook.

I knew that using a bigger hook meant a bigger snail but I did not think by that much. I also did not think about my snail not only being taller but also much wider. As I crocheted his shell, I knew he was going to be big. When I crocheted his body, I made it longer than the pattern called for to accommodate the larger shell. When all the parts were crocheted I worried about the size but as the parts were stitched together, this snail came to life and his size no longer mattered.

This snail turned out very cute and I have named him Escargot. And just like the turtles, I will be making more snails in the future since it turned out so well.

So as the French would say, C’est la vie!

7 thoughts on “Escargot

  1. I really, really like this little guy. It’s the first time I’ve felt a need to make a small creature. Could you share the pattern link with us?

Leave a Reply

