The Headless Cow, Man!

P1020618 Or as Bart Simpson would say: “Don’t have a headless cow, Man!”

Roxie, the amigurumi cow I recently finished, has made her way into my heart quickly. She was just a couple of hooves when I decided she was just going to be too cute, and would be living here with me next to T-Bone and Three Eyes. When I first found her pattern, I fell in love with the pictures of her, and I was very excited to make her. The author of the pattern said to use whatever size yarn and hook you wanted and did not give a finished size, so I again turned to my favorite G hook and started crocheting.

P1020595I made the legs first and then the body because the legs are crocheted into the body, rather than being attached later as most patterns call for. With the legs and body completed and stuffed, my crocheting got interrupted and a headless cow sat on the sewing table for awhile and drove the husband crazy. He could not leave the headless cow alone and talked about it all the time. “Well that’s some disturbing news but not as disturbing as that headless cow in there.” he would joke or how about “I had a nightmare last night and in it a headless cow was after me.” Soon after the headless cow was flying around the sewing room with the husband’s assistance, trying to scare me as I worked.

By this time, the husband was having just too much fun with the whole headless cow thing, so I finally tucked the body into a drawer until I could finish crocheting her head and get her finished up. I think the fact that our Halloween trip was just a few weeks away was getting to him. We always go to Disney for Halloween every year, and they always do a re-enactment of the Headless Horseman of Sleepy Hollow galloping down Main Street USA right before the Boo to You Halloween Parade starts.P1020620

P1020628The cow’s udder was the most fun part to crochet for me. The teats are made from popcorn stitches which I had never crocheted before making her, so I ended up learning a new stitch while making this cow pattern.

Roxie turned out much bigger than I had expected her to be, but her size is fine with me. As I have said before, I like bigger amigurumi’s. They are just more fun to make for me. I ended up using some white leftover yarn I had from making  T-Bone the skeleton to make Roxie. I believe it is Caron brand yarn, and it seemed to be thicker than the last skein of Red Heart yarn I used. I am sure that the heavier yarn added some to Roxie’s size. If and when I make another cow, I will use a different brand of yarn but I will still use the same size hook and I will expect to get about the same size cow.

Well that is it for this week’s adventures in yarn! I think that Roxie the newly headed cow turned out as cute as could be, but the husband is a little sad that he cannot make any more headless cow jokes.

One thought on “The Headless Cow, Man!

Leave a Reply

