A Jacket Fur You

IMG_4778Is it possible to serge fur? Or better yet, should you even attempt to serge fur? Or I guess the real question I am asking is, how would you finish the edges of your fur projects? I know that is what the lining is for, but since I had never lined a jacket before or anything as complicated as a jacket, these were just a few questions I was facing at this point in the continuing construction of the fur jacket.

.

My next step probably should have been to do an internet search or by looking at one of my reference sewing books to learn how to sew a lining into a jacket, but I decided to just to wing it instead. That and to use any sewing intuition that I may have, and just see what I would end up with.

.

IMG_4776So I started by sewing the shoulders of the lining together, and then sewing the lining to the top and collar of the jackets. This worked out great. It finished the edges of the collar and the top of the jackets. So far, so good. Next I sewed in the sleeves on both the fur and the lining and then the side seams. Ok, that was done, but now the finishing work started.

.

.

IMG_4781I needed to finish the facings and then do the hems. Normally this is the easy part and I just start serging. So I grabbed some scraps and started to serge to see what I would end up with. I was pleased with the way the fur serged. I thought I was in for a big mess but the fur actually serged really well. The one thing I did learn about serging fur, was that when serging where the hair of the fur was longer than the backing of the fur, I had to make sure that I was serging the backing and not just the hair of the fur.

.

Deep in the back of my mind, I knew that I did not need to serge the fur, and that the answers to my questions was to turn the fur and then hand stitch it to the lining. But I really HATE to hand sew anything if I don’t have to. The thought of spending hours hand stitching all of the hems and facings about left me to believe that the finishing of this jacket, no less the construction of a fur jacket for me, was a doomed project and that I should just give up now. But wanting to finish what I started, I went ahead and serged the facings and hems of the jacket and then decided to cheat and just turn them as I would any other project.

.

P1020655This seemed to work out ok for the facings, but I did break down and hand stitch the top edge of the facing to the lining, since a very minimal amount of hand stitching was involved. I also decided to tack down the lining at various points inside the jacket before stitching the hems to help hold the lining into place while I stitched. I then folded up the hems and stitched away. Of course the hem line could be seen from the fur side where it stitched over the fur and matted it down. To fix this, I took a needle and pulled the hair of the fur out from underneath the stitches so that the hem was not as noticeable. When it was all done, I thought that the hems looked fine from the fur side of the jacket but I did not like the look of the serged edge of the fur at the hem line on top of the lining. It looked sloppy and unfinished, not the look one would want or expect a fur jacket to have. But this was how I had sewn this jacket and I was not inclined to unpick my hems and try something different. Plus the little neighbor girl wouldn’t really care what the inside of her fur jacket looked like.

.

P1020658P1020664Once I had it all done it was time to try it on! The jacket fit the little neighbor girl well and I think she looks just adorable in it. She wore it to preschool the next day and her mom reports that all the teachers just loved it. I really don’t know if I am ready to make my jacket yet. I think that I will do some more research into lining a jacket and see if I can get a better, more professional finish before I start my jacket. Hopefully, I can find a lining technique that does not involve tons of hand stitching but will still solve most of my current problems and dislikes. The husband suggested that I should first make the little neighbor girl a vest with the fur next. And I think this is a great idea! I can try lining the vest differently and see what works, plus I could add some pockets and see what works there as well. So, stay tuned for more furtastic fun!

2 thoughts on “A Jacket Fur You

  1. First I love your site and somehow you must be a long lost relative because we share so many similarities!!!!!

    I actually saw something from Angela Wolf on sewing fur, you shave or trim it along seams….

    Here is the link! http://www.itsseweasytv.com/projects/series_300/305/Itsseweasy_305-1.htm

    Second I am an infant in comparison to your experience! I used to be a technology director and computer mapping geek until my gastro and immune system went kaput. I was forced to take medical retirement in 09, long story…. but in after 3 years of convalescence I decided I needed to start quilting, then sewing. So I bought 2 machines a Brother LB6800, 1034d serger, and a Janome 1000cp. I have made a couple of patchwork and paper pieced quilts, and a couple of t-shirts tunics but no I mean BUT I got the fabric hoarding bug plus started picking up loads of other peoples sewing rooms on craigslist and spend more time trying to organize than sew!

    So thanks for your blog and yes after my first few emb projects I felt imprisoned by my 4×4 emb field……..

    Well I need to get back to reading your blog in hopes to re-energize my mojo for sewing/quilting/embroidery and pick up some interesting lessons along the way!

    If my intentions were stitches I’d be done by now…….. (my mantra)

    Cheers,

    Ronda Halvorsen in Bend, Oregon

    • Thanks for the comment Ronda! I will certainly check that out for my future adventures in fur!

Leave a Reply

