The Long and Winding Road

941656_515344308514980_1754325710_nAnd so it begins. So in the last 18 months I have been able to loose some weight and keep it off. I’m pretty proud of myself. Although this is great news, it has caused a couple of sewing issues to arise. Namely all of my clothes are fitting me like plastic garbage bags and all my basic sloper patterns now need to be adjusted before I can start sewing myself some new clothes. Altering clothes and patterns is not one of my strong suits. I really hate to unpick seams. I am just lazy at heart. When I make something that needs to be taken in or let out, I take the easy way out and say that I will just adjust it the next time I make the pattern.

.

P1020785This dilemma would have happened sooner, except I am like most women and I have a stash of clothes that I have out-fatted over the years but just could not bare to part with. And just knowing that someday I would drop those extra pounds and be able to wear those clothes again. And recently I have been wearing those clothes, but I am being teased about my ’80s shoulder pads and I can’t wear my ’90s grunge to work, so it is time to break down and either alter my recently made clothes or alter my patterns and make new clothes.

.

Because of my hatred of unpicking seams, I decided to start out by altering my sloper patterns. While wearing one of my favorite ’80s shoulder pad shirts, I remembered that years ago my mom helped me to take a pattern from this shirt. Was there any chance I still had this pattern hiding in the back of my pattern box? This would be a great starting point if I did still have this pattern. Luckily, being the pack rat I am, I did still have that pattern.

.

P1020787I decided to start this pattern altering journey with my t-shirt pattern. With the help of the old ’80s pattern and some new measurements, I cut out a current sized t-shirt for me. And I picked a fabric that I have a lots of, and am not the fondest of, to give this new sloper pattern a try. The sewing part of the t-shirt was pretty standard fare. I did try the shirt on a couple of times during the sewing process just to make sure I was on the right track.

.

With the sewing of the t-shirt completed and the fit seeming to be good, I decided to do some embroidery on the shirt. When I started this project, I was not going to embroider a design on this shirt. Why would I waste the time and thread on a pattern fitting trial project? But, I was pleased enough with the fit of the final shirt to embroider on it so I did. I picked the Pig Pen design because I really like it and have always wanted a shirt with Pig Pen on it and I just hadn’t got around to it. You see lots of shirts with other peanuts characters on them but not usually Pig Pen alone. Plus, he looks good with the green stripe on the fabric, and since it is a casual shirt, he fits in on it quite well.

.

P1020793As I was digging in the closet for the ’80s pattern, I found this black, white and grey striped t-shirt that I had made for myself about 5 years ago. It did not fit very well at the time I made it because the stripes are painted on the knit fabric and the paint took all the stretch out of the fabric. So, it was tucked into the closet for some later day project and that some day was now. It now fits me much better so as long as I had the embroidery thread and stabilizer out, I decided to add a design to this shirt as well and have another better fitting wearable shirt.

.

P1020794Now for the biggest test of this whole project. The wear test. And after having wore both shirts a few times, the Pig Pen shirt fits pretty good and is very comfortable to wear but I believe that is due to the knit fabric. If I did not have the stretch of the knit would my alterations be correct? So, I am not saying that I have officially completely altered my t-shirt basic sloper pattern to its new size, but I am getting very close to it. And I am not going to be tracing a new final pattern from the mishmash of the two patterns just yet. But I am using those as a base to use on my next sloper pattern, my v neck no collar pattern, and that will be made from a woven cotton fabric. By the time that one is made and wear tested I should have a completely new pattern with the correct sets of adjustments that I can use for some future sewing projects for myself.

3 thoughts on “The Long and Winding Road

  1. Hello. Where were you able to find the “Pig Pen” design to embroider? Have have looked everywhere and can’t find this design. Thanks for your response.

  2. Pingback: You’ve been a good friend Charlie Brown! | Sew Forth and Sew On

Leave a Reply

