Getting My Kicks On Route 66

P1030839Not wanting to lose my sewing mojo, I decided to make a second shirt for the husband. With just a single change in mind of shortening the length of the pattern, I cut out the second piece of fabric. It is a brownish pique with less stretch that I had pulled out on my last trip to the stash. The fabric was a dream to work with and I loved sewing this shirt together.

I knew the minute that I saw the shirt just what design I wanted embroidered on it. I had been wanting to stitch this Route 66 at sunset design on something for a long time and that time was now. The husband wasn’t sure about my pick at first but I talked him in to it. Choosing the colors for the design was the difficult part. I wanted brown tones for it, but the husband kept selecting other colors instead. I could not believe he would want so much pink on his shirt, but I have learned over the years to listen to the husband when it comes to colors, and yes he was right again.

P1030834The design stitched up beautifully. I just love it. Although I like the colors that the husband had picked, this design could be done in any color scheme, browns, blues, purples. It is a very lovely design. I hope to use it again on something. It would look great on several future projects on my list.

After completing this shirt, the husband wore it and asked once again for it to be shorter in length. Once again I cut some off some of the length of the shirt and hemmed the shirt shorter but only made a note on the pattern rather than altering the pattern. I am afraid of shortening the pattern too much. I would much rather cut off any extra length than try to add more fabric to make it longer after the fact. The husband did not say anything about the back, and this actually concerned me. Once again by cutting off the P1030833length, I lost some of the large side slits and, now, without the extra in the back would sitting down in the the shirt be an issue? Luckily the answer was no, the husband has wore the shirt with the small side slits a few times now and has not complained about any sitting issues with it. I made a note on the pattern for next time to cut longer side slits on his next shirt. I can always make the slits smaller in the sewing process if needed.

Well, the husband now has two new better fitting shirts. I should make another and work on adjusting the length of the pattern but I am ready to move on to a new project or two. So it’s off on another sewing adventure for me! Wish me luck!

2 thoughts on “Getting My Kicks On Route 66

  1. Your work looks great! And thank you for displaying a different and interesting Route 66. I’d like to make a patch of the three wise gargoyles but cannot find the embroidery design online. Is it your own design or can you direct me to the company i can buy it from? Thank you.

Leave a Reply

