Hey! I found a button!

I wanted to look for some buttons for an up and coming project that I had started to plan, so I decided to make a trip to Joann’s. But even though I found some great buttons, I also found so much more.P1040394

Because I have to travel to get to a Joann’s, it is rare that I make it there on the starting day of a sale, but this time I did. On my way to the buttons, I passed the clearance aisle and noticed the 50% off signs. I also had a coupon for even more off of the 50% sale so I decided to look, just look.

Usually I do not find much in Joann’s clearance section, especially when it is on sale. I am usually too late in the sale to find anything I want and the clearance fabric is all picked over by the time I get there. This time since I was there on the first day of the sale, this was not the case.

I picked up two or three bolts of fun kids cottons and flannel that on sale for 50% off and the extra coupon I had made them a great price. As I was making my way to the cutting table, I walked by a separate rack of licensed fleece. I almost did not notice the 50% off sign hanging above the rack since it is seldom on sale for a good deal. But this time it was not only on sale, but it was on clearance too!

P1040387To my surprise I could not believe what was on this rack, several bolts of snoopy fleece prints. Oh my! Thank you! I believe I will take it all please! And so I proceeded to load my cart with all of the Snoopy and Peanuts licensed fleece they had left.

As the nice lady at the cutting table was measuring off the remaining Snoopy fabric on each bolt for me, I noticed several other clearance fabrics behind her on the return rack. So I strolled over to the rack behind the cutting tables to check out that fabric as well. Even though there wasn’t any Snoopy fleece on there, the rack was filled with some great minky fleeces and flannels. The prints and prices on these fabrics were so wonderful, I just had to have some of them too!P1040391

After that I finally made my way over to the button aisle but I could hardly see the buttons over my cart full of fabric. After seeing several buttons that might work for my project, but were not exactly what I had wanted, I decided to not purchase any buttons for now. Yes I know, the very thing that had brought me to the store in the first place and I was not going to be purchasing any. Well I wasn’t going to purchase any until I made it to the register to check out.

As the register lady was ringing up all of my fabric treasures, I noticed a basket of clearance buttons next to the register. And as I dug through the basket, I found some buttons that would be great for my project and many more that I would need for future projects. And since they were on clearance and with my extra coupon, they were a steal of a deal! Yay!

P1040389With my arms now full of bags of all of my wonderful fabric purchases, I waddled my way to the front door.

But wait!

I had forgotten to go to the yarn department to see if there were any fun sale or clearance items there. So I stopped and started to turn around but then I turned back around and headed towards the door again. I was so excited to get home and see all of my wonderful fabric and button purchases again that I decided to save the yarn shopping for my next trip.

Until next time… Sew forth and Sale On!

Leave a Reply

