Now where did I put that Trapper Keeper anyway?

The precious, the precious…

Do any of you remember any of your first day of a new school year?

It was all so exciting and scary at the same time!SchoolSupplies1

 

New clothes and shoes of course, but more important to me were the new school supplies! Sorry I must admit here that I am a HUGE fan of office supplies and I always love to see what cool new things they have invented for kids to go back to school with for every new school year. Since I used to roam with the dinosaurs, I am always amazed at all of the cool high tech things kids get to go to school with in these days of future past. For us oldsters it was usually something along the lines of Pencil’s and Paper. Erasers, yes lots of those since we were pretty sure the mistakes we were going to make that year would be of EPIC proportions so we had to have some way to ERASE the evidence.

Glue1Some sort of glue or paste, depending of course which one would make a bigger mess stuck in our hair and on everything else and which tasted better. Why yes I did purchase the new mint flavored Elmer’s Glue, didn’t you? Only the finest ground up horse hooves would do for us kids back in the day.

Then of course I remember the year that Mead brought out the very first version of the Trapper Keeper. Man were those things cool! See! I told you I was OLD! Roamed with the dinosaurs people, roamed with the dinosaurs I tell ya!

Trapper1Oh man! I just had to have one! In pink! Oh yeah! And you should probably go ahead and throw on a Unicorn or two, and maybe a rainbow just to be on the safe side of course. I didn’t want to be seen in public without being in the haute of fashion!1963-jetsons-school

But today kids go to school with all kinds of crazy things. Smartphones, Tablet computers, Laptops, Graphing Calculators, Fitbits, Nike+’s, and a whole host of other crazy things to keep them distracted just long enough that they don’t have much time left over to learn much of anything.

It is fun to reminisce about the past, and a little nostalgia every once in awhile is okay, but it’s not healthy to romanticize the past too much.

At the end of the day, today’s kids aren’t all that much different from when you and I were kids, and most of the school supplies are still the same too. The things they teach kids have changed over the years of course. The humanities don’t seem to be taught as often and with as much fervor as they were when I was a child. But I think that the basic Reading, Writing, and Arithmetic are still there. I don’t believe that things like history and literature are pushed very much anymore. It’s too bad, those were my favorite classes when I was in school.

And while I still don’t have everything in my life figured out, I can take comfort in another kind of nostalgia, reminiscing about how much I’ve learned over the years. I can only hope that when I look back on my life, I’ll regard this version of myself as equally clueless. Only then will I know how far I’ve come.

Until next time, Sew Forth and Trapper Keeper on!

Leave a Reply

