Ah Mom! Do we have to go back to school again?

Yes folks it is that time of year again.

Back to school time.

back-to-school

Wow! It is hard to believe that we actually wore some of the things we did in public, let alone to go back to school in isn’t it?

That70sFashionFrightfest1-sm

Ow! My EYES! It BURNS! It BURNS!

Isn’t it funny the clothing styles that you thought were so cool as a kid of a certain age. And how as your tastes became more refined and changed as you got older,  you can’t believe the things you wore when you were younger.

That70sFashionFrightfest2-sm

It went something like this:

6-9 years old: Wow mom that looks really cool! Thanks for getting it for me! I am going to wear it every day until it has some many holes in it and smells so bad it disintegrates off of my body! No really Mom, I mean it! I really am!

10-13: It’s ok mom, I will probably wear it next week after I have seen some of the dorky things that other kids are wearing that look just like it. I don’t have to be the coolest kid in school yet, but I don’t want to be un-cool either. You know, just in case. Pinky swear!

14-18: Are you kidding me mom? I would never be caught DEAD in that. That is SO LAME! I can’t believe you thought I would like that. You just don’t know anything about me anymore.

ARRRRGGGHHH! Rebelling teens and tweens. It’s a pain, but it’s a part of growing up and it is part of the great adversity of being a parent too.

That10sFashionFrightfest1

Most parents today look at what their 12+ year old is wearing and just shakes their head in disbelief as their children head off to school in who knows what and even if you try to stop them from wearing it, they will just pack it in their backpack and change into it once they get to school without your permission.

The bands names change but the song always stays the same.

Sew forth and study on!

Leave a Reply

