Hey Chubby! Stop Eating All My Stuffing! – Part 1 of 2

DSCN0089I’ve been to Yellowstone National Park, and I’ve seen a real moose from six inches away. Yes, they are big animals. Yes, they not to be messed with. Yes, they go and do whatever they please. Yet as I reached 80 stitches per round on my latest amigurumi’s body, I thought to myself, “this is a little too much moose”.

Because this is a story about Kevin.

Kevin the Chubby Moose.

When I read through the pattern for this amigurumi, I knew it was going to be big, but I did not realize just how chubby this moose would be when I first started it. As always, I started the crocheting with the arms, legs and other parts. After I crocheted the arms, they looked good. So I crocheted the legs next and they looked stubby. Then I crocheted the antlers and ears and they were fun to make. Finally, I crocheted the snout and the mouth. These are two separate pieces. I was not going to have to give this moose a smile since he was going to have a mouth. It was then time to start the body and head.

P1040413In this pattern the head and body are all stitched as one piece, not two separate pieces stitched together. This combo started at the top of head and all was going well until I reached the rounds just before the neck. The pattern called for three rounds of equal stitches but the round count on the pattern only showed one round of stitches.

So, do I crochet one round or three rounds?

DSCN0082I crocheted just one round and it looked too short, so I crocheted two more rounds and that looked too long. I undid the extra two rounds and held the snout and mouth to head. One round looked right with the snout and mouth so I decided to go with one round. Now, this would not have been a big deal if the head and body had been two separate pieces. If I decided later when stuffing that I wanted the extra rounds at the neck and the pieces would have been crocheted in two pieces, it would just be a matter of adding in the extra rounds. But because they are all done as one piece, if I decided I that I had wanted the extra rounds when I was stuffing, I would be out of luck. I would have to undo everything that I had crocheted of the body portion to add in the extra rounds. And I was not willing to do that. So once I decided that just the one round was right, there would be no changing it to three rounds later. So I hope that I chose correctly.

Find out next week if I was right!

Until next time, crochet forth and moose on.

Leave a Reply

