Hey Chubby! Stop Eating All My Stuffing! – Part 2 of 2

DSCN0091As I passed the neck and was heading on down the body, the rounds of crocheting just kept increasing in stitch count until I had to add an extra stitch marker to help me keep track of the count. And the body of the moose just kept getting bigger and bigger. I was afraid at one point that I would run out of yarn. And since the head and body of the moose needed to be stuffed as I crocheted, I was really starting to notice just how big this body was getting as I went along.

I had started with half of a bag of stuffing and I thought that would certainly be enough to complete this amigurumi but I was wrong. I used that half bag and then had started well into another before I got this chubby moose body all stuffed and finished.

DSCN0083As I was stitching the pieces of this amigurumi together, I realized why the legs were so stubby. Something had to hold up this chubby body so it didn’t fall over when sitting. The antlers were time consuming to stitch all of the smaller pieces together, but they went together easily and looked great once done. The placement of the ears and antlers on the head was a little tricky but they worked out fine. And the arms stitched on just great.

Now was the moment of truth…

Was one round at the neck the correct decision early on in the construction of this moose or should it have been three?

I still don’t know the answer!

DSCN0074The snout and mouth were a tight fit and the extra two rounds might have helped in stitching them on, but the snout and mouth were supposed to be a tight fit according to the picture. So that means that one round might still be correct. I guess the only way to know if it should be one or three rounds is to make another moose with three rounds at the neck and see how it looks compared to this first one.

I really do like the look of the snout and mouth as two separate pieces though. I think it gives this moose it’s character.

DSCN0087This moose received his name Kevin very early on in the crocheting process. I don’t know why he is named Kevin, he just looked like a Kevin to me, so that name stuck. Kevin the Chubby Moose.

And even though he consumed way too much of my stuffing stash, he turned out to be very cute once completed. I will have to make a trip to the store for more stuffing before I can make another one though.

Until next time, crochet forth and moose on.

Leave a Reply

