Either Side

DSCN0636I always find a lot of fun free amigurumi patterns when I look around on the internet. This time though I found a free sewing pattern for a little girl’s reversible wrap top. This top looked like a fun sewing project, plus I knew just the fabric that I wanted to use for it. And with that, this top became my next sewing project. I would also be expanding my sewing skills while making it which was a plus too. This would be the first reversible garment I had ever sewn.

I had purchased this fabric at a thrift store many years ago, and it was promptly tucked into the stash for just the right future project. Now, many years later, the right project had finally emerged, but is the pattern on the fabric too dated to use? Are these funky cats too far out of style to make this into a top? I decided that I really like the funky cats and that I still want to make this top from this fabric. I had planned to make the ties for the top from the funky cat fabric too, but I found some small white bias tape in the closest and decided to use it instead.

DSCN0632With the fabric washed, dried and ironed, it was time to get the pattern ready. After reading the instructions for the pattern, printing out the pattern pieces, taping it together, and cutting it out, I decided that since I had plenty of fabric to work with that I would make the largest size of the pattern in a size 4/5. The pattern was easy to cut out and I was soon ready to sew.

The sewing process for this top was fun and easy. The most difficult part was sewing the bias tape together. It was difficult to sew a straight seam so close to the edge of such a small piece of fabric and not have it bunch up under the needle or sew off the edge. After struggling through the stitching of the 4 ties, I thought about using seam to seam adhesive instead. So the next time I will not stitch the bias tape together, but instead I will fuse it closed with some seam to seam adhesive and save me a lot of time and trouble.

I did not use the floss method to gather the flutter sleeve because they were so small. I just stitched a row of long stitches and pulled the threads to make the gathers. I was careful to pull the gathers the same amount on each sleeve, making sure to keep the sleeves the same length.

DSCN0641Sewing the ties on to the top took some thought. The ties on the front pieces were easy, one tie on each front piece. On the side seams though, I had to make sure that I had one tie on the pink side and one tie on the white side.

The hem also required some thought to finish. At first, I thought I would hem this top as a big circle. Then I realized that this would leave exposed seams inside the top. Since this was a reversible top, I had not finished any of the seams, knowing that they would just be tucked inside the top. With this in mind, I stitched the white and pink fabric together at the hem to seal the unfinished seams inside. Sewing the hem this way was not hard. I just had to be careful to keep the pieces of fabric folded evenly as I hemmed. I finished off with some topstitching around the edges to match the hem and reinforce the ties.

DSCN0639The top turned out just too cute. The funky cats are fun, and it is great that the little girl wearing this can pick if she wants to wear pink or white that day. I do have some questions about the wearing of this top. Does the little girl wearing this top find the inside ties uncomfortable? Are two ties enough to keep this top on while playing? Do the ties stay tied through out the day or is the little girl constantly needing her top tied back on? Do two fronts make the top hot and bulky to wear? Man, do I miss the little neighbor girl. I could have given her this top and got some feedback from her mom on these wear issues. I like this pattern and it is well written. The top was a fun project and I would like to make more of these reversible tops in the future, but I hesitate to do so until I know more about how well it wears.

Until next time, sew forth and reverse on!

Leave a Reply

