The Sunflower’s Belly Button

DSCN2361Meet Sunflower the lion, my latest amigurumi project. Even though I have not had this lion pattern for very long, I felt that it met my current crocheting criteria of being a pattern that I wanted to make but that I had not gotten around to making yet. So, I picked this lion as my next project.

DSCN2363It was easy to pick the colors for this lion and soon enough I was crocheting away. The pattern called for paws to be made at the ends of the arms and legs during the crocheting process. I thought it would work better to save the paw making step for the end when stitching the arms and legs on after stuffing them, but I was incorrect. After stuffing and stitching the arms and legs to the body, I tried to pull the yarns to form the paws but I did not like the results so I took the yarns out and left this lion paw-less.

DSCN2333When I crocheted the mane, I forgot that this pattern does not count the magic ring as row 1. I had crocheted all the orange mane and had started on the brown mane when I realized that each of my pieces was missing a row. This explained why my mane was coming out so rounded instead of spiked like the pictures in the pattern showed. I did not like the rounded mane so I started again. I counted correctly the second time and soon had both an orange and brown spiked mane which I liked much better.

DSCN1222I thought that stitching the mane on would be difficult. But the pattern had nice instructions of where to stitch the mane, and it fit nicely where it was suppose to go, not too big or too small to fit around the head. This lion was named as I stitched his mane to his head. His orange and brown spiky mane on his yellowish brown head reminded me of a sunflower, so he was promptly named Sunflower. Now, I know Sunflower is not a proper name for the king of the jungle, and I tried to rename this lion to something more appropriate several times but nothing fit him quite like the name Sunflower.

DSCN1240Upon completing Sunflower, I handed him to the husband. After turning Sunflower around a couple of times, the husband handed the lion back to me and said, “He needs something.” Ok, what? The husband thought for a moment and then said, “Give him a belly button.” A belly button? Lions don’t have a belly button! That was crazy. Give the lion a belly button? What was the husband thinking? Ok fine, I’ll give him a belly button and it will look stupid. To prove my point, I stitched a brown belly button to the lion and see… It’s really cute.

DSCN2364Sunflower was a lot of fun to make. He turned out really cute, especially his belly button, but don’t tell the husband I said that. He did not take as long to make as I expected, but he was not a simple project either. Now, I just need to find him a good home.

Until then, crochet forth and belly button on!

Leave a Reply

