Time To Say Goodbye, and Hello!

DSCN3535DSCN3537“He’s dead, Jim!” goes the often quoted line from Star Trek’s ever present with a quip Doctor “Bones” McCoy. And in this case, it’s as true as ever…

My favorite Snoopy shirt, made so many years ago, is finally dead. It is faded, thread bare and as of the last laundering, has a small hole at the back of the neck.

But at least I can say I have wore it everywhere!

 

It’s been to London, it’s been to France, and yes it’s even seen the Queen’s underpants! Well Elton John’s anyway! It been wore to work, at home, for parties, on vacations, just everywhere! But I can no longer wear it outside of the house in public again in this shape.

But for some reason I just can’t seem to stop wearing it!

It’s my SNOOPY shirt you see, and I just can’t seem to let it go…

So, to ease the pain of my not being able to wear this particular Snoopy shirt in public again, I decided it was time to open the box of my most precious fabrics, the Snoopy fabrics, and to use some of it to make me a new Snoopy shirt.

DSCN2792Luckily I did not even have to open the precious Snoopy fabric box to pick out the piece of Snoopy fabric that I would use to make this new shirt from as I had just purchased it at Walmart a couple of weeks ago and it hadn’t even made it to the box for storage yet.

I then debated about the style of shirt that I wanted this new Snoopy shirt to be.

Collar or no collar? Buttons or no buttons?

DSCN3447After making my last project, the fleece football pull over jacket, I decided to make this shirt in that style, but with no hood and just short sleeves.

I would use my basic t-shirt sloper pattern, but I would cut a slit in the front to get the shirt over my head and use facings to complete the neck line.

This would be a very simple design that would let the Snoopy fabric be the details of the shirt.

I had never made myself a shirt like this before, but it didn’t seem like it would be too difficult to make the changes to the pattern or to sew it up.

DSCN3541It was easy enough to prep this fabric for cutting, make the alterations to the pattern and lay it out, but when it was finally time to cut the fabric, panic and fear filled my heart and soul…

I would be cutting into this precious Snoopy fabric and what if I ruined it?
What if I cut it wrong?
What if I didn’t like the pullover design?
What if I messed up the alterations?

DSCN3539I could not cut into this fabric.

I just couldn’t.

So I decided that I would not be making myself a new Snoopy shirt after all, and that I would never, ever have another Snoopy shirt again.

SIGH!

But to console myself, I would always know that I had a box filled with Snoopy fabrics that I could sometimes visit and look longingly at behind it’s bulletproof glass in it’s hermetically sealed climate controlled room.

As I was folding up the Snoopy fabric to put it back in the box, the husband wandered into the sewing room to see my progress. I explained to him that I just could not cut into my precious Snoopy fabric so there would be no new shirt. He sympathized with me and I was done sewing for the day.

The next day, the husband made a secret trip to Walmart and bought me some more of the same Snoopy fabric. He explained that now I could make my new Snoopy shirt as planned and I would still have some of this Snoopy fabric carefully tucked away in the Snoopy fabric box.

AAUGH! Isn’t he the best?

DSCN3542Well back to work on the new shirt then!

Cutting out this shirt went smoothly. The sewing of this shirt also went smoothly. I carefully stitched and cut the the slit and sewed the neck with the facings.

I did put a small bar tack at the base of the slit to stabilize the slit. I thought for a moment about tacking the slit open, and maybe adding some buttons, but then decided not to. And soon enough, I had a new Snoopy shirt to wear!

YAY!

DSCN3543This newly designed Snoopy shirt has passed the “wear test” with flying colors!

This shirt is very comfortable to wear and I like the design and the slit. It’s very hospital scrub like in design.

And, everyone loved the Snoopy and Woodstock’s on the shirt. I am so happy that I made this shirt and that it turned out so well!

And I am especially happy that I have more of this fabric tucked away in the stash to use for something else later on.

The success of this shirt MAY just have encouraged me enough to pull another piece of Snoopy fabric from the box and make another shirt from it. I might even use a fabric that can not be replaced readily.

Maybe! That’s a BIG MAYBE! We’ll see.

Until then, sew forth and Snoopy Happy Dance on!

Leave a Reply

