Hooked on a feeling

 

271

So the question at hand today: Can you wear out a crochet hook?

I think I may have done just that!

I wouldn’t have thought it was possible, but I have had to throw away my favorite G size hook and get a new one to replace it.

DSCN4056I have four common crochet hooks that I use to crochet with, but by far the one I use the most is a Susan Bates brand size 4 or G-6 hook. It is my “Go To” hook unless I know I want an amigurumi a little bit bigger or smaller. All my hooks have rubber pencil grips attached to them to help me crochet with them for better ergonomics and over the years I have replaced the grip many times on this G hook, but the hook itself has been just fine.

DSCN4053But when I picked up my favorite G hook to crochet something the other day, I noticed it had a burr on the end of the hook. I tried to remember if I had done something stupid with my hook like grout the tub or something that would have damaged the end, but I could not think of anything in particular. When I tried to crochet with the hook the burr was definitely a problem for me. It continually got caught on the yarn, and it slowed down my speed while crocheting with it.

ce45de1f58a1c2629e2a4a5b3695bc99I showed the burr to the husband and he said he could fix it. The husband took my hook to the garage and returned with the burr removed, but so was the anodized coating on the hook. I crocheted a few stitches with the hook but without the smooth coating on the hook, it felt odd like it wanted to stick instead of passing over the yarn smoothly.

Now, whether the hook was really sticking or the sticking part was just in my head, I don’t know, but I was not happy crocheting with this hook. So, I decided it was time to retire my favorite G hook and get a new one.

DSCN4057I purchased the exact same hook in the exact same size and brand and brought it home. Upon examining the two hooks together, it seems to me that the new hook has a deeper hook portion than the old hook had. Once again, I may have just been imagining this, but that is how it looked to me. I put a new pencil grip on this new hook and then I crocheted a few stitches with it. And for some reason it seemed odd in my hand.

But, really, this has to be all in my imagination. The hooks were essentially the same. They were the same size, same brand, same color. But were they? Yes, they were both the same size of crochet hooks by the same brand, but would the stitches they made be exactly the same? Could I switch hooks in the middle of a project? Would it effect the size and shape of the finished item if I did?

DSCN4058I did not know the answers to this questions and I did not want to ruin my current amigurumi project by switching hooks in the middle, so I dug my old G hook out of the garbage can. I decided that even though it did not seem to crochet as smoothly as it once did, I would work with it to complete my current amigurumi project and then I would start the next project with the new G hook.

Make sure an watch for the next exciting crocheting post to see if I really do find any differences between the old hook and the new hook, or if it really is just ALL IN MY HEAD!

Until then, crochet forth and G hook on!de38496775ab435d1dee24b18ca2bbd2

Leave a Reply

